How to Decoupage on a beer bottle

We’re all trying to find ways to put those leftover wine bottles to use, looking for ways to decorate wine bottles, use them as planting pots and so much more. If you’re not a wine drinker, you might have other glass bottles around the house that you might want to up-cycle and put to good use! I had some spare beer bottles lying around the house. With decoupage gaining popularity in the last few years, (although it has been there forever)…I thought of transforming my glass bottles with the magic of Decoupage! Upcycle crafts are my favourite kind because you can find most of the resources around you easily and then create something so beautiful out of waste.

Living in India, it is hard to find craft materials easily. In recent times, a number of craft stores have come up which makes finding products much easier but they’re not cheap and many of them are imported making them so darn unaffordable. When I went to France last year, I picked up some pretty printed napkins from random departmental stores. Similar printed napkins are now sold in special craft stores under “special decoupage sections” at pretty high prices! I’m glad I found these for myself and will enjoy crafting with these while they last. 🙂 Post that…I’ll have to make do with whatever will be available here. Now I know that they’ll be there!

There are several decoupage on glass bottle tutorials on Youtube and even more on wine bottle crafts. My tutorial down below is to give you some inspiration in case you’re looking for some. As much as I enjoy doing decoupage, looking at other crafters gives me great decoupage ideas and definitely inspires me. So the next time you are about to throw a glass bottle away, think of what you can make out of it! The possibilities are endless.

Since my beer bottle used here was coloured as they usually are, I primed the base with a layer of white Gesso. Not only did this help the napkin image to look brighter and the colours more saturated, it was easier for me to blend in the torn edges with the paint around it. Simply pasting paper isn’t what Decoupage is about. It is these personal touches like adding the paint and texture that makes this mixed media art so interesting.

I hope you enjoy my Decoupage tutorial I have shared here and don’t forget to share them with your friends or leave a comment as to what you thought of it.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑